Monday night saw the brightest and best from the air ambulance community celebrate at the national Air Ambulance Awards of Excellence 2016.

Thames Valley Air Ambulance had two nominees for awards – Dr James Raitt and Pilot Dave Webber. Neither James or Dave managed to come away with the award but Amanda McLean CEO highlighted the Charities pride, “We are all so wonderfully proud of both James and Dave, as well as the rest of the Thames Valley Air Ambulance crew.

“All crew members are amongst the very best in the country and the region is very lucky to have them.”

Chair of the Judging Panel, Jim Fitzpatrick MP, said: “The stories we heard about the work being done by the nation’s air ambulance services were truly remarkable.

“What a tonic these stories are in turbulent political times. I would like to congratulate every single one of the nominees and send a message to the winders of the Awards that they truly are examples of what can be achieved through teamwork, expertise, courage and determination.”
A fill list of the winners last night are below:

Air Ambulance Campaign Award

WINNER: Hampshire and Isle of Wight Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Lottery Fundraising Services

Charity Staff Member of the Year

WINNER: Susie Croft

Sponsor: Milestone Aviation Group Ltd

Charity Volunteer of the Year

WINNER: Jamie Edghill

Sponsor: Tower Lotteries

Air Ambulance Doctor of the Year

WINNER: Dr Mark Wilson

Sponsor Leonardo Helicopters

Innovation of the Year

WINNER: Devon Air Ambulance Trust

Sponsor: Sloane Helicopters

Lifetime Achievement Award

WINNER: Alastair Wilson

Sponsor: Specialist Aviation Services

Air Ambulance Paramedic of the Year

WINNER: Erica Ley

Sponsor: BMW Government and Authorities Division

Air Ambulance Pilot of the Year

WINNER: Steven Norris

Sponsor: Safran UK

Special Incident Award

WINNER: Wales Air Ambulance

Sponsor: Airbus Helicopters

Outstanding Young Person Award

WINNER: Isobel Pilsworth

Sponsor: Babcock MCS Onshore

AAA Chairman's Award

WINNER: Bill Sivewright